RSS Feed

We’re Having a Party!

Well, we had a party; I meant to get to this last night.

IMG_2695

Yes, it was Mom’s (or Grandma’s, depending on which generation is doing the talking) birthday yesterday, so we marked the occasion with cupcakes and presents. That’s what passes for a party these days: the kids run around getting crazier and crazier, while the adults become progressively more glassy-eyed as they mentally check out. Let the good times roll! Happy Birthday, Gran!

The flowers, by the way, were Joey’s idea. He insisted that I order (or, perhaps, stop by the HEB?) some beautiful flowers and hide them, so that he could present them. Now, how could I refuse that?

IMG_2692

Truth be told, part of the reason I didn’t post this yesterday is because I was rather disappointed in the apple cupcakes, and it’s bad form to say so and then proceed to serve them. I mean, they were okay—just not what I was hoping for. Specifically, the icing, which was less of a buttercream and more of a . . . butter. Yep. It was like spreading lightly sweetened butter on top of the cake. Since the cake was actually more like a muffin, I guess it all worked out, but you can understand why I spread it on instead of piling it on generously, as is my usual custom.

The boy and I, we’re definitely frosting people. I’m also a big fan of cake, whereas he is not, but neither one of us can pass up a good frosting. He barely took a lick of his yesterday, if that gives you a better idea. So disappointing. Well, my search for the perfect apple cupcake recipe continues. The ones at Crave have spoiled me, for sure, which reminds me that I also need to work on the perfect key lime cupcake. Tough work, I tell ya.

It’s been a really lackluster week, creatively speaking; I haven’t sewed a stitch. One of my goals this weekend, though, is to re-assess my work-in-progress box and see what’s going on in there. Out of sight truly is out of mind, in my case. It does make for nicer looking shelves, though.

One response »

  1. Well, the cupcakes LOOK marvelous, does that count? Hope your mom had a good birthday — we’re in a birthday hotspot in our family – 3 this weekend! Have a good one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

