RSS Feed

Biggering and Biggering

Hard as it is for me to believe, a certain someone has just turned a year old.IMG_2888

(She’s not lacking in assertiveness, this girl of ours.)

So, of course there was a celebration, complete with favors

IMG_2872

[Deluxe Caramel Apple Kits, complete with caramels, chocolate, toffee bits, and M&Ms; just add apples. Heavily inspired by Heather’s November craft.]

And – at the last minute, because I totally almost forgot – the ubiquitous birthday shirt:IMG_2875

Yes, “Princess Leia’s” Halloween turtleneck made a second appearance on this fine occasion.

The girl thoroughly enjoyed being showered with affection, gifts, and delicious cake, and we enjoyed being able to celebrate a very happy occasion with so many of our loved ones. The year has completely flown by. I’m finding it a little difficult to wrap my head around the idea that the little lump that was bundled up in the crook of my elbow this time last year is now tottering across the room. It’s all good—just a little…weird.

Of course, my wonderfully clean and clear home now looks like a bomb went off (no fault of our guests), and I can’t even figure out why. What I do know is that I need to stay on top of it, seeing as how we have two other family gatherings taking place in our home before the year is out. I’d love to just be able to do a quick spruce before each one, you know?

That’s my working theory: The more we entertain, the easier it will become. The birthday party was my most low-key to date, and it still made me a little anxious. My hope is that, with a few more under my belt, it will become second nature. It really is kind of fun, you know? Well, you probably do know, but I’m just now finding out.

2 responses »

  1. One year already??? How is that possible. Happy birthday to your little cutie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

