RSS Feed

Sucker

I should learn to stick to my guns. Years ago, I realized that I didn’t have the mental and emotional capacity to take on custom sewing requests. That sounds pretty dramatic, right? But it’s true! What seems like a carte blanche request (“Something like the one you made me, but in different colors”) is actually a lot harder than it sounds.

Because, at least for me, just about everything I do is like a snowflake: no two are alike. Even when they’re supposed to be identical…they are not. And, when you get right down to it, the requestor usually does have an image in mind, whether they realize it or not. It’s probably not as specific as I fear, but I’m aware that it’s there, nonetheless. I find it nerve-wracking.

But–

I do so love to make things, and I do so love my friends; how can I refuse? Well, actually, I’ve been known to refuse, but only when I’m pretty sure that the outcome will be disastrous for all involved (you know, relatively speaking. It’s hard to imagine a sewing project with disastrous consequences, but I think you know what I mean.) A baby blanket, though?

That’s another matter. Totally hard to pass up. I selected this fabric (and received it in record time, I might add!), and was off to the races. Actually, I sat sketching and arranging and auditioning fabric for hours first, and then I was off to the races. It’s amazing how long it can take to come up with a really simple design, but that’s my process. My friend requested an appliqued initial, similar to the ones featured here. We’re supposed to meet for lunch this week, so I’ll be able to hand this off soon and can stop thinking about it.

Then I’ll be able to focus on the custom Christmas stockings she requested for her own family. Yep. Hey, I said I should learn—it’s a process.

3 responses »

  1. I love it! Now go make me one that’s identical, but in different colors…I’ll keep the “L” for liss…just to make out husbands crazy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

