RSS Feed

Zing

So, even if you’ve never seen my kitchen in person, you’ve probably caught a glimpse of the lovely Kermit-green walls in photographs.

This was my view from the main island:

That’s a lot of green. Not as boring as when the walls were white, but still lacking that certain something. (And we’re not even talking about the light fixtures, which I hate. Yes, I said “hate.” Stupid ugly mismatched lights.) Since the budget didn’t allow for the expense of large pieces of art for the kitchen (especially when we could be spending the money on you-know-what. Yes, you again, lights!), I decided to crank out some of my own:

Using some Martha Stewart dishtowels as the centerpiece, I added three rows of patchwork and then stretched the whole thing over wooden stretcher bars.

I have no idea if I assembled the stretcher bars correctly–and I strongly suspect that I did not–but it worked, so that’s good enough!

My original intention was to have written up a tutorial for these a month ago, when Sew Mama Sew was focusing on scrap-busting projects, but that just didn’t happen. These are pretty straightforward, but I’ll be happy to provide more detailed instructions if anyone would be interested.

Needless to say, I’m much happier with my view from the sink. The room is finally coming along! Unfortunately, from that vantage point, I can also see the far wall of my living room. The stark, blank wall of my living room.

2010 is already filling up with fix-it and decorating projects, but I’m determined to finish up ’09 before I think about any of them too much. Let’s just get to Christmas first, or Thanksgiving, for that matter. Then, and only then, will I allow myself to really dig in with the New Year Notebook [official title].

3 responses »

  1. I am currently being inspired to paint my bathroom this weekend… this wall art inspiration fit right into my “mojo” of thinking about painting / decorating… will let you know on Sunday if I actually accomplish anything!

    Reply
  2. Yay! Yay! Love ’em! Love ’em!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

