RSS Feed

It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like New Year

Well, the four days of Christmas were a lot of fun. I had the annual  momentary Christmas Eve freak-out, where I look at the modest pile of gifts and worry that my kid (the elder, that is—the younger couldn’t care less) is going to be horribly disappointed and forever scarred because we didn’t get him the million things on his list, or even the one [ridiculously expensive, completely inappropriate for his age] thing he really really wanted. Once again, my fretting was completely unwarranted, and a good time was had by all. I’m no fool, though: I realize our years are numbered. I’m just hoping that we’re subtly lowering his expectations little by little now, at the very least. Anyway, we had a great weekend, and I hope you and yours did, too.

Now, I’ve had a day to work through the inevitable post-Christmas letdown (where I worry that I didn’t slow down and enjoy it enough–even though I did better in that respect this year–and mourn the fact that it’s all over now), and am ready to move on. In the middle of the hall closet sits an empty bin. Last week, it was chock full of gifts which were still waiting to be wrapped and distributed. Now? It’s once again waiting to be filled with stuff which will be heading out the door.

Yes, it’s time to get to cleanin’.

When I mentioned last week that I was already looking past Christmas, I meant it literally. Every time I opened a closet, the stuff that was yearning to be free was almost lighting up. “Throw me out”, they cried. “Send me to a better home!” It was a little weird. Well, I’m nothing if not compassionate; they’ll be moving on down the road within the week. And I’m not going to lie to you: I’m totally excited to be getting down to business! I don’t know whether to be happy or sad that this is what constitutes “excitement” in my day to day life, but there you have it.

So, with that, I’m pretty much wrapping up 2009 with a few days of family fun [which is to say: trying to keep the kiddos entertained in an attempt to wean them off the week of Christmas celebrations, which has left them both a little mental] and household rejuvenation. Happy New Year, friends!

(And please, can we just agree to refer to next year as two thousand ten, or even twenty ten, and let “2K10” fall by the wayside? As a personal favor to me? Not that you owe me anything, but still. Thank you.)

4 responses »

  1. I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one with that type of conflicted feeling about Christmas. I mean, I love it, but I build it up in my mind so much that I’m always worried that the real thing isn’t good enough. Which is just silly if you think about it, but I’m not generally that rational in the midst of my freak-out, as you so eloquently put it! =)

    Reply
    • Well, now I’m glad to know I’m not alone, Zarah! 🙂 The upside is that I think, with each passing year, I’m getting a tiny bit closer to setting reasonable expectations for what a “successful” Christmas looks like. It’s becoming crystal clear that weeks of admiring my pile of already wrapped, perfect gifts while I leisurely bake yummy treats and prepare for an evening of quiet fun with my family just aren’t going to happen. If I can have even one day like that, it’s a red-letter one!

      Reply
  2. I think you can rest assured that 2k10 won’t last… since this is the first time I have even heard it… lol.

    Reply
  3. I’m glad to hear that others are thinking about the hectic pace of the Christmas holidays and doing something to minimize the frenzy. I deliberately chose to do everything in a simple manner and didn’t decorate the house from top to bottom, side to side. It made such a difference and enabled me to truly be mindful of the holiday. And now I can embrace this new year with a sense of quiet peacefulness instead of frenzied aggravation. What a relief.

    Happy 2010 to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

