RSS Feed

Like Baskets, Only Noisier

I came across the instructions for these fabric-covered buckets last year, and finally managed to not only remember that I had said instructions filed away, but also get them made up in time for Easter. It was a pretty easy project, albeit a little fidgety. Getting the template just right was a little tricky (definitely not my strong suit), as was stretching the fabric across the layer of glue just so. Please don’t talk to me about getting out all of the little bubbles. I went over it again and again with a plastic knife, and was super proud of my attention to detail…until I looked a little closer after the second layer of sealant was drying. Yep. Bubbles. Well, I tried. 

One tip: After you apply the layer of glue over the top of the fabric, let it dry completely and then sand it with a super-fine grit paper. I actually repeated this process (the glue and the sanding) a second time, but I don’t know that this is necessary.

You can’t see it, but the side seams are hidden by length of ribbon. This was a royal pain in the neck, and the results were okay at best. It’s one of those things that you get better at with practice, but y’all know that I’m not one much for making extras. Still, if you were making some of these up for an event [I think they’d be adorable centerpieces!], it might be worth your while.

Now all that’s left to do is to fill ’em. I have to say, I think the whole bunnies and candy aspect to Easter is fun — everything is so colorful and cheery, and I’m (way too much of) a sucker for the tasty treats— but I can’t wait until my kids can understand the reason for our joy: Our Savior died for our sins, He rose again and is alive. Hallelujah! So rejoice, my friends, and have a Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

