RSS Feed

Flavor of the Month

I noticed yesterday that This Vintage Chica has declared it Back-to-School Book Week. Today is cookbook day, and it just so happens that I have a brand new favorite to bring to the party.

I am always on the lookout for new inspiration when it comes to everyday cooking, and  Time for Dinner does not disappoint. It has everything I love in a cookbook: great writing, lovely pictures, and — most importantly — recipes that I can actually imagine undertaking on a weeknight. On top of that, the recipe categories are great; it’s like they were written just for me.

Oh, if only (although in my case, it’s because I do the shopping on Thursday). And I love “I Want to Use What I Already Have”, because I often find myself with, say, meat, and have no idea what to serve with it. “Hey”, says Time for Dinner, “I have an idea!”

Well, thank you. Thank you very much.

Yes, one meal only; that is definitely the goal. My kids aren’t what I’d call picky, but their meals often require the personal touch (which is to say: no visible garnishes for one, no choking hazards for the other). As far as I can tell, that’s just life with kids in general. Fine. I’m willing to make a few minor concessions in the name of peace. Besides, heaven forbid if an onion should touch my plate, so I’m not completely unsympathetic.

Of course, I would be remiss if I failed to mention that the reason I absolutely had to get my grubby little paws on the book was two-fold. First, there is a feature in the current issue of Real Simple: Family, which referred to the author of Dinner: A Love Story (who is also the co-author of Time For Dinner) as “the dinner doula”. This recipe was a hit with my crew, so I had to check out the blog. If you haven’t already done so, go now and see it for yourself. I’m telling you, you won’t be sorry you did; it’s such a fun read! And the food is good, too!

May I recommend the Spicy Shrimp with Yogurt?  It holds a special place in my heart now, because my girl gobbled it up. She’s never been a fan of shrimp, choosing instead  to spit out every morsel that somehow made its way into her mouth, and then cleared her tray by sweeping it to the floor…while looking me dead in the eye. Good times. You can imagine my surprise when I saw that both her plate and the area surrounding her chair were clean. We have a winner!

I ordered the book the next day. This week, I plan to go through it a second time and flag a few recipes for next week. I can’t wait!

Now – if I can just make it [through] Wednesday….

Leave a Reply

