RSS Feed

Switching Things Up

Our ninth beautiful niece came into the world last week! In anticipation of her arrival, I decided to try kicking up my standard receiving blankets a notch by adding a crocheted edge.

Of course, I don’t know how to crochet, rather, I didn’t know how to crochet. After a very patient lesson from my dear friend (who made crochet-edged blankies for both of my kids), I practiced and practiced and then finally put hook to flannel and gave it a shot.

Hey, as a side note, did you know that it’s a bad idea to try to learn something with your non-dominant hand? Yeah, you probably did. I did not, figuring that it was a brand new skill anyway. Wrong! I could not get any kind of rhythm down…until I finally turned everything around and switched hands. Oops. And duh.

Anyway, here is attempt #1:

I couldn’t make the leap to applying the  [even prettier] stitch that I’d been practicing to the blanket itself, so I went with this more basic one. (There’s a tutorial online, but I can’t find it at the moment.)

By the time I got to blanket #2 [weeks later, for I was so very slow but steady], I managed to change the stitch up. I don’t think I was doing it correctly, but for the life of me I can’t figure out quite how it’s wrong. Still, it was close enough!

I loved learning something new, I loved having such a good excuse to use two of my favorite fabrics, and I love love loved finally getting to meet our sweet little Maya.

2 responses »

  1. She has been enjoying her very special blankets made by her favorite Aunt Meggy!

    Reply
  2. Well say! Look at you! I still haven’t even tried that one. Looks great, Meg! And isn’t that baby the sweetest…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

