RSS Feed

Be Prepared

Last week was pretty much sucked into the abyss, thanks to a virus which worked its way through the entire household. Thankfully, this week is off to a much better start! You’d have known exactly how grateful I was to be back on my feet had you seen me kicking up my heels while I cleaned the kitchen and did the laundry yesterday. It was great! (No, really — it was!)

Speaking of grateful, I can’t tell you how relieved I was to have this little basket of goodness tucked away in my pantry for such a time as this. What a lifesaver! Really, if you don’t already have a similar stash on-hand, do yourself a supreme favor and handle that there. I’m also starting to build up the winter cold season supplies, which includes a variety of teas, ointments and solutions.

Do you have any particular Dr. Mom (or Dad, or fill-in-name-here) favorites that you keep at the ready? Please share!

7 responses »

  1. wow, you’re bold…we can’t tolerate the lemon gatorade. we have to have pale pink or blue. not sure why. (i’ll check with family members on both sides and see if this is common…)

    Reply
  2. Have you ever had VitaCoco meems? It’s Coconut water. I can’t remember if you are a coconut lover, but if you are may I suggest it. It is probably the best thing you can drink to rehydrate. And for an extra boost, you can throw it in the blender with some ice and some squeezed orange juice and you will be looking for your lost shaker of salt in no time!

    Reply
    • Yes! I wasn’t sure if it would be a good replacement for the kids, and didn’t want to make them my guinea pigs, but I started drinking it once I was feeling better and think it made a great difference. I’ve since added it to the emergency supply basket. 🙂 Good tip, Mikey Boy! (It’s a little funky on its own, though, don’t you think?)

      Reply
      • It took a few sips to get used to, and I have to have it served over ice so it’s really cold. I couldn’t drink it at room temp

  3. I keep a few gallon size ziplock bags in the glove compartment in my car. You just never know when those viruses will appear! Another tip on the coconut water… Vitamin shop has some flavored small cartons (you know – like the personal Horizon milk size) that are really yummy. There’s guava, mango, and probably another one, but the guava coconut water is my favorite!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

