RSS Feed

And It Only took Three Years

A couple of years ago, I decided that my flannel pile was out of hand [something of a perpetual problem, thanks to the Thanksgiving sale at Joann’s] and made this quilt top, along with ones for each of my sisters. Theirs were promptly finished, but mine suffered a worser fate: it went into the works-in-progress bin. Oy. That has become a loose term, to say the least. Anyway, first I didn’t have a backing…and then I found one…and then I forgot I’d found one, and handily folded it right up with the top.

Well, what do you know!

At this point, it was clear that any delay was bound to be a long one, so I decided to just turn it pillowcase-style and handquilt it rather than start on the whole baste/quilt/bind process. Not that handquilting is such a speedy process, but sometimes you just have to pick your poison. Turns out that I like handquilting, too, especially when there’s not a ton of it to do. [Note the rather large, loose square. There’s also a smaller circle quilted into the center of each block.] I was going for loose and puffy with this throw, and that’s just what I got.

Want to hear the best part? IT’S DONE. A big part of my 2011 goals center around moving forward, which requires doing something with all of the half-finished stuff cluttering up both my physical and mental space. This was a step in the right direction. Also, it’s warm and cozy, and I hate being cold. Bonus!

2 responses »

  1. It came out cute! I still LOVE mine! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Love the handquilting!!! Those chunky stitches make it look even more cozy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

