RSS Feed

Get it Together

The other key to breaking the overflowing to-do stack cycle is, of course, not to add new projects to the pile in the first place. That’s why one of my other goals for this year is to just jump on in and get it going — and finished — while the idea is still warm.

More on that in a minute.

A friend and I were talking about insomnia  a couple of weeks ago, and I have to say that I don’t suffer from it in the traditional sense. Ever. In this, I am definitely my father’s daughter. I mean, ya gotta sleep, right? However, I am a victim of the 2 a.m. curse. It started when I was a freshman in high school, and it’s never really gone away: I go to sleep at a reasonable hour, only to find myself wide awake at around two. Oh, but I go back to sleep…at around 4:30 or 5:00, which is just in time to try to drag my sorry behind out of the bed. If it happens once, I can almost surely count on it happening at least two or three nights in a row, especially if something is weighing on my mind (but that’s not a pre-requisite; sometimes it just happens.) Anyway, it was on during one such episode that I decided to spend my time checking out new-to-me blogs, and got absolutely lost (thanks to Heather) in Happy Together. Where have I been?! So many good tutorials and projects! This one caught my eye, mostly because the side of my fridge was such an eye-sore. Blech. Also, it didn’t hurt that I knew that I had all of the supplies on-hand, thanks to some extra clothespins from a Christmas project, and a couple of rulers that have been kicking around the house since we received them from the nice vendor at the rodeo last year. Yeah. So, no time like the present, right?

Because I’m the impatient type, and also had a bunch of scrapbook paper gathering dust [I don’t scrapbook, but I am a sucker for pretty paper], I decoupaged the pieces instead of painting them.

Voila! Done and done, and I think it was only three days from the time I saw it to the moment it got pressed into service, which is something of a record.  

Quick note: I originally used hot glue to attach my clothespins to the ruler, and two of the six came off within the week. The next time around, I stuck ’em on with glue dots, and they’re still hanging tough.

Leave a Reply

