RSS Feed

Flavors of the Month, Part 1: Popcorn!

Once again, it is March, and I find myself spinning my wheels a bit. My brain is kind of all over the place; lots of stuff is in various stages of doneness.

What better time, then, to empty out said brain a little by sharing some of the stuff I keep meaning to talk about? That’s my thinking.

We begin with popcorn. I happen to love the stuff. Unfortunately, my boy does not — he’s a complete abstainer. He won’t even try it! Sadly, that was my favorite afterschool snack when I was a kid, especially in the winter. My mom would make it at least once a week, and sometimes we even had hot chocolate to go with it. Good stuff. But…not for some people, so no popcorn afterschool snack in this house. So, heat up a big ol’ pan and pop up corn for one? No, thanks. And I don’t care for the taste of microwave popcorn that much…or do I?

 

I was flipping through the Food Matters Cookbook, and came across instructions for cooking popcorn in the microwave in a brown lunch bag. Well, say! You just dump 1/4 cup of kernels in the bag with a 1/4 tsp of salt, fold over the top a couple of times, and pop it up in the microwave. (The “popcorn” button on my oven is just about perfect, so I have no idea how long it takes. Probably 2-3 minutes.) So easy!! I have to say, it’s not the first time that I’ve seen this idea, but it’s the first time that a staple of some sort wasn’t involved. That’s supposed to be perfectly safe, but there’s no way I’m going to put metal of any kind in the microwave. I was just positive that I’d try it, blow the door off the oven and start a small fire, and then find out that it was supposed to be some sort of special extra-thin staple, because what kind of fool would put a regular one in the microwave? (That last part is what they’d say after reading my complaint about the dangers of popping corn on the cheap.)

Anyway, I’m sure you can eat it plain and feel all super-healthy and clean, but I wouldn’t know about that. If loving a hint (or maybe a tablespoon or so) or melted butter on your freshly popped/thrifty nickel popcorn is wrong, I don’t wanna be right. Yum yum yum.

4 responses »

  1. Oh ho ho ho ho! We just happen to have a popcorn lover at this house, and a bottle of kernels in the cabinet. I think MY boy WILL like this tip!

    Reply
  2. mom told me about this a couple of months ago…but i wasn’t about to be the first to try it. (thinking somehow a plain brown bag would burst into flames vs. the microwave bags that must be made of some special magical paper. we seem to have a fear of fire…or making people mad when we start them?)

    don’t forget: organic butter=no dairy. moo.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Super « Make it Snappy

Leave a Reply

