RSS Feed

31 Days: It’s Not All Bad

Sometimes, it’s a good idea to take those 15 minutes I was talking about yesterday to think things through and get it together before jumping into a project.

For instance: A couple of weeks ago, I was going through a basket of sewing projects that were in various stages of production. At the very bottom was some patchwork that I’d pieced together earlier in the summer with the intention of making some Christmas chargers for our table. Now, if you think it sounds ridiculous to start Christmas projects in the summer, I’ll go ahead and ramp up the ridiculous by telling you that I’d bundled up the fabric for this project at least a year ago, maybe two.

(For those of you of the non-sewing persuasion, let me just tell you that this kind of patchwork? Not the kind of project worthy of a delay measured in years.)

So, right that minute, I decide to stop what I was doing and just make the darn chargers already. I pressed the patchwork, selected and cut the backing, and got down to business. As I was pinning them together to sew them, I kept thinking about how I was going to quilt them. Also, I couldn’t help but notice that they were kind of flimsy — much flimsier than the ones I’d made a couple of years ago. Ah, well. That was pretty heavy-duty backing. Must be it.

Keep pinning. Think some more about the quilting.

I figured, They’ll probably have a little more body after they’ve been quilted.

After they’ve been quilted…

…quilted!

OH! I totally forgot to add batting. Without it, they were most certainly not going to magically have enough body to be anything other than a big round napkin. Idiot!

Fortunately, I hadn’t gotten a single stitch into them yet at that point, so I just re-pinned–with a layer of batting this time–and carried on.

See?  A few minutes of preparation probably would have come in handy, here.

I can’t tell you how happy I am to have this project checked off and out of its basket prison!

One response »

  1. love these! very grinchy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

