RSS Feed

31 Days: Taking It Outside

We don’t get out much. Between the mosquitoes and the pollen and the ragweed, it’s very hard for me to bring myself to spend time in the yard. Believe it or not, that actually kind of kills me, because I love being outside. Love it!

(Surprised? Well, who could blame you — you’ve never seen me outside.)

Unfortunately, our yard very quickly slips into complete shambles if we don’t stay on top of it.  So many weeds…. And we don’t stay on top of it, so it looks really great right now. The thing is, it’s a pretty big job to weed the yard. Also, most of the bedding plants are from the previous owner, and that is some hodge-podge bunch of ugly. They did pick very hardy, low-maintanence plants, which would sound like a good thing, but remember that they’re ugly. Ugly, not ever going to die plants.

Ah, but I have a plan:

Now that the weather (but not the darn bugs or air quality) is tolerable, I’m trying to air the kids out before dinner time a little more frequently. It seems like we never have enough time for that either, but it turns out that we usually do — at least a couple of times a week. Today, while they were distracted by fighting over the bubbles and whatever else they find to bicker over, I pulled a ton of weeds out of the front bed. I would’ve pulled them all, but there was a giant fire anthill hidden under one patch; left that one alone. Next time, I’m going to test the limits of my upper body strength by trying to dig out some of the un-lovelies. Since they are green and alive, I might even find another home for them in the back. We’ll see. The main thing is to clear out the bed so that it can be mulched and I can stop weeding long enough to figure out what to do with this space. I need time to just gaze at the beds as a nice clear space and cook up a planting scheme for winter.

After that, I’ll take on the back. There’s only about a 1% chance of that happening in what remains of 2012, but we have been on a tear lately. Who knows?

 

2 responses »

  1. Oh man – rip those uglies out. JUST RIP THEM OUT AND TOSS THEM. It’s one of the first things I did when we moved into our house and even though I felt wildly guilty about it at first (they’re new! they’re alive! they’re green!), it opened up so much space for plants that I actually love and want to take care of.

    Be brutal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

