RSS Feed

Je ne suis pas la Bonne Maman

Posted on

Oh, the time of summer fruits is fast coming upon us! Already, we’ve been enjoying some very delicious strawberries. They’ve been so cheap that I found it hard not to buy them by the cartful. I mean, they do spoil super fast around here, and that drives me nuts. But, say! If I made some jam, well, it would make perfect sense to buy a couple of extra quarts, right?

Of course!

001

I totally got down to business on my little micro-batch (4 pints, which was perfect because I actually only had 3 pint canning jars in the cupboard.) I went with the Strawberry-Vanilla version from this book, since I also had vanilla beans in the pantry. Why not?

A short while later, we have this:

002

And it may look like a jar of delicious strawberry jam…

003

mais non. It’s sauce; it never did properly set up. [Sad trombone.]

But! It’s a very tasty sauce, so that’s a plus. The kids love it on waffles, and I like to stir it into yogurt for a treat (’cause I’m crazy like that!) The vanilla adds a strange candle-like bouquet to it, which is odd but not off-putting.

So: not a total failure, but I won’t be starting my line of preserves anytime soon. I still like looking at my very own canned goods in my pantry, though. Grandma would be so proud, or else thoroughly unimpressed…no, I’m going with proud!

Leave a Reply

