And Then There Were Three

Posted on

It’s the end of the school year, and do you know what that means? Why, that means it’s time for teacher thank you gifts, of course!

This is our first go-around, so I’m totally winging it here. Since it’s both our first and last year at this pre-school (for now, seeing as how it’ll be a while before The Girl gets her turn), I felt like it would be nice to have something for not only the two teachers and their assistant, but also for the director and her assistant. OK, so that’s a total of five mini-patchfolios; a lot of cutting, but manageable.

Actually, it’s a lot of cutting when you’re making more than one of these. And a lot of interfacing. Oy. Once you get through all of that, though, they’re a breeze. Besides, you know how much I love putting together the fabric combos. Love it, I say!

Despite my best efforts, up to and including the measuring twice and telling myself repeatedly not to cut it wrong, I did indeed cut the very first quilted piece wrong.

Blast it! Weeeell… no fixing that one.

So: the director and her assistant? A good idea in theory, to be sure, but wasn’t I taking things a bit too far by including them in the first place? Yeah, probably so. At least that’s how I justified it to myself when I made the executive decision to forge ahead with the non-ruined stack of four, one of which was just a-callin’ my name.

[Hey, it happens to the best of us.] 

And cutting myself a little slack sure beat the alternative: throwing something across the room, and yelling loud and long before making the declaration that dinner had been cancelled (which may not seem related, but somehow usually just feels right.)

As a wise man once said, “it gets easier.” Turns out, this apple did not fall far from that tree.

5 responses »

  1. whoa saw this title and was like “third kid on the way!?” tricky meems

    Reply
  2. Oh yes, you needed that one. Can’t go wrong with that fabric! One of my faves. As always I’m loving your fabric combos!

    Reply
  3. They look great! I love mine and will be using it at my conference next week!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Spring to Summer? « Make it Snappy

  5. Pingback: Same Time, Next Year? « Make it Snappy

Leave a comment